KyleHodess
Hi everybody!

I'm debugging an application I didn't write (and I'm not an application developer...) where it would appear that Nuance is returning HTTP 500's and my MPPs are getting PASR 19s during busy periods. We seem to be able to line this up in the Nuance nss.logs to oversubscribing our ASR resources.

The application I'm working on is pretty complicated, but the basic part is that it starts with a language prompt (dtmf, not speech) and before even making the selection, I see myself opening an MRCP connection and using a session in Nuance. This leads me to believe that whatever that app is doing from the getgo, it's asking for a speech reco license to do it.

Now, there's another application, a bit simpler, also with language selection, that has an option to "if you'd like to go to the main menu, press 3". That app never ties up an ASR instance - even when it gets me back to the main menu of the primary app. The only difference I can surmise is making my language selection first in the second simpler application.

So, I got to cracking open some OD samples and started looking at the referenced libraries in both applications. I notice the one that always ties up a license calls a scert-7xyz and a scertcommon-7.xyz where my app that never calls up an ASR license only references the scert-7xyz but not the scertcommon jar - and for whatever reason, the app that doesn't tie up the ASR is calling an older scert-7 library too...

Anyhow, I start googling up com.avaya.sce stuff I wind up here and it's the best thinking I can come up with as to why one app always ties up a ASR license even when not doing speech reco yet in the call and another app doesn't at all.