mguthrie
I'm new with collections as a whole. I have a collection of strings, and I want to be able to grab a specific string from that collection and put it into a variable. The collection is dynamic, so I will not know the name of the string, but I will know what index of the string needs to be chosen. (String 1, string 2, etc.)

How do I go about doing that?
SimonBrown
I don't think you can, happy to be corrected though.

New to OD as well and wanted to do same thing. Appears collection access is quite primitive. You have to loop over to find match.
Does not seem to have a function like IndexOf.

When you locate a collection item the variable refers to the current item. There does not seem to be a concept of true collection/array with position syntax e.g. MyCollection[1]

Unless otherwise stated. EP 7.2.0.0.1117 Dev: JVM: 1.8.0_171 OD 7.2.1.0502 tomcat-8.5.23
WilsonYu
Right. We tried to keep things simple here. If you need more manipulation of the data, you would need to write some Java code.
mguthrie
Was hoping there would be an easier way, but I ended up looping through the collection based upon the DTMF option chosen. So if the caller presses 4, it will loop through the collection 4 times to reach the proper index. Since I don't expect the menu to ever go beyond 9 options, this should work fine for my scenario.
SimonBrown
@WilsonYu

Can you provide any guides to working with Java in OD. It quite frequently gets referred too as option to resolve problems.
I have looked through the developer guide and there is no mention on how. I have looked at the main OD web site https://www.devconnectprogram.com/site/global/products_resources/avaya_aura_orchestration_designer/overview/index.gsp and cannot find any material.

Need to understand;
How to hook into Java with OD.
What classes are available and how I can use them, is there intellisense, reference documentation?
How to effect OD from Java, ideally, am I able to extend the palette of options?